Banner Ladies 3-13 Wolfe Tones na Sionna 1-3(2009 Clare U16A Championship)

Date: 10 May 2009
Time: 11.00am
Venue: Wolfe Tones Shannon
A master class by Niamh Cahill at corner back paved the way for our club's fourth title in a row as goals from captain Niamh Walsh, Rebecca Culligan and Niamh O'Dea paved the way for a deserved victory.

Played in glorious sunshine in the magnificent Wolfe Tones pitch the Banner Ladies were dominant from the start with their Clare minor stars Niamh O'Dea, Katie Cahill, Laurie Ryan, Megan Haugh, Aoife Martin and Niamh Walsh all prominent.

The defending champions had the tonic of an early goal from captain Niamh Walsh and from there on in they were never threatened although if fairness to Wolfe Tones they never gave in and battled gamely all through the match.

The Ennis club had just too many better players in vital positions to allow Wolfe Tones pose any serious threat. Harriet Flynn did well for the losers in keenly contesting midfield but even here the Banner Ladies eventually held sway with Aoife Martin and Katie Cahill teaming up well. Moira McGrath was another to shine for the losers as she alternated between her selected full forwarded position and a third midfielder role.

By the interval the Banner Ladies had swept into a 2-6 to 0-1 lead with their goals coming from Niamh Walsh and Rebecca Culligan. Points were added by Niamh O'Dea, Megan Haugh and Katie Cahill while Wolfe Tones replied with a McGrath point. The losers were unfortunate to miss a penalty in this first half and had they scored it would have put a more positive look on the half-time scoreline.

The Banner Ladies extended their lead early in the second half with points for O'Dea, Haugh, Culligan and Katie Cahill. Midway through the half Niamh O'Dea scored her side's third goal and the game was well and truly over as a contest. The Banner Ladies were to add further points from Orlaith Lynch, Laoise Talty and O'Dea before Sinéad Kelly slipped through for a well worked Wolfe Tones goal. Megan O'Sullivan and Claire O'Brien also added points for the losers.

In the end the Banner Ladies were well worth their winning margin and had the luxury of being able to introduce their whole bench to the field of play. Following the game Mr. Johnny Hayes, Chairman Clare Ladies Football presented the 2009 U-16 Championship trophy to winning captain Niamh Walsh

Banner Ladies: Orla Hennessy, Niamh Cahill, Laurie Ryan, Catherine Dolan, Sinéad O'Keeffe, Niamh O'Dea, Shauna Crowley, Aoife Martin, Katie Cahill, Niamh Walsh, Emma Glynn, Orlaith Lynch, Kathleen O'Keeffe, Megan Haugh, Rebecca Culligan.

Subs: Laoise Talty, Aideen Fitzgerald, Susie O'Shea, Eva O'Dea, Helen Hehir

Match Photos Now In Photo Gallery