Thurles CBS 3-15 St. Caimin's 0-9(2009 Harty Cup (Munster Colleges Hurling))

Date: 8 Mar 2009
Time: 2.30pm
Venue: Nenagh
THURLES CBS ended a 53-year famine when they captured the Premier Munster Colleges hurling title in Nenagh yesterday, with a 15-point victory over first-time finalists St Caimin's of Shannon.

Beaten semi-finalists in 2000, 2001, 2006 and 2007, Thurles fell at the final hurdle in 2005 and last year, but after knocking on the door for so long, it finally swung open in emphatic fashion.

In the process, Thurles became the first Tipperary team since Templemore CBS to capture the title, with a fine first-half performance paving the way for this comfortable victory.

Clare's St Caimin's elected to play into the teeth of a stiff wind, but paid the price as Thurles opened up a 15-point half-time lead en route to a seventh Harty Cup success. First half goals from Michael O'Brien and David Butler gave them a 2-11 to 0-2 interval lead.

Thurles took full advantage of the breeze, with 2-10 from play before the break, while Caimin's were restricted to just two pointed frees from Pa Sheahan.

Although Caimin's opened with the first three points of the second half, Thurles never looked unduly troubled.

Denis Maher was once again a tower of strength at centre-back for Thurles CBS and team captain James Barry made a late appearance as a substitute and lifted the trophy as he continues his recovery from a wrist injury.

Thurles oozed class in the first half as former All-Ireland minor medallist John O'Neill led the charge with three classy points from play.

After five minutes, O'Brien hit the first goal following a scramble and with 19 minutes on the watch, David Butler took advantage of a mistake by goalkeeper Tommy Griffen to poke home the second, while, Aidan McCormack put clinched a famous victory with the third.

SCORERS -- Thurles: D Butler & A McCormack 1-1 each, K Morris 0-4 (2f), M O'Brien 1-0, J O'Neill 0-3, D Fogarty 0-2, P Molloy, D Maher, M Bracken & P Greene 0-1 each. St Caimin's: P Sheahan 0-8 (6f), D O'Connor 0-1.

THURLES CBS -- P Ryan; S Harty, R O'Shea, M Doyle; P Molloy, D Maher, J Meagher; M Russell, M Bracken; K Morris, J O'Neill, A McCormack; M O'Brien, D Butler, D Fogarty. Subs: P Greene for O'Brien (44), P Looby for Bracken (51), J Barry for Fogarty (57m).

ST CAIMIN'S -- T Griffin; E McInerney, N Purcell, C McCaul; E Boyce, K Lynch, S O'Connor; N Frawley, D Liddy; P Sheahan, S Hynan, J Guilfoyle; P Collins, T Crowe, A Mulready. Subs: D O'Connor for McInerney (21), J Conroy for Guilfoyle (50), D Keogh for Frawley (54).

Ref -- D Kirwan (Cork).